Home » Games » Devil’s Crush

Devil's Crush

Devil's Crush BoxDevil’s Crush is a pinball video game developed by Compile and published by Naxat Soft for the TurboGrafx-16. Released in 1990 the game is a follow up to Alien Crush and is the second installment in the Crush Pinball series.

The pinball table was designed with an occult theme featuring skulls, skeletons and demons. The dark hell-oriented theme features many creatures and objects related to Hell, or the Devil. The table is divided into three sections as the free scrolling table transitions between three screens. Each of the three sections divide across three screen breaks and have their own flippers. The premise of the game is just like any other pinball game where balls are released into the table with the goal to gain as many points as possible before losing all of the balls. The uniqueness of the game centers around its theme, the objects placed throughout the pinball table and the mechanics of the table.

The top section of the table contains a pentagram surrounded by roman numerals. If all roman numerals are activated by hitting them with the ball, then robed fiends resembling Druids start circling around the pentagram. This activates a bonus round allowing players to gain additional points.

Secret holes are scattered across the table which the ball can be shot into, resulting in moving to a different screen starting a mini boss battle. The game contains six different mini boss battles which players can earn additional points if successful. In addition to the boss battle bonus rooms there are many other types of bonus rooms that can be entered, all of which are unique in nature and different ways to earn bonus points. Unlike many pinball games, Devil’s Crush can be defeated by earning 999,999,900 points.

Devil's Crush Full TableThe game was ported to the Sega Genesis / Mega Drive console in 1992 by developer Technosoft. The North American release of the Sega Genesis port and the European release of the Mega Drive was retitled to “Dragon’s Fury”, however the Japanese release of the Mega Drive port retained the Devil’s Crash name with a slight revision to “Devil Crash MD”.

The Crush Pinball series continued to be extended with the release of Jaki Crush for the Super Famicom and Alien Crush Returns for the Nintendo Wii. The Genesis version of Dragon’s Fury that was developed by Technosoft was published in North America by Tengen. Tengen decided to develop a sequel to Dragon’s Fury without any involvement from Naxat Soft or Compile with the release of Dragon’s Revenge in 1993 for the Sega Genesis.

Devil's Crush Logo
Publisher(s)Naxat Soft (PC Engine)
NEC (TurboGrafx-16)
SeriesCrush Pinball
PredecessorAlien Crush
SuccessorJaki Crush
Platform(s)PC Engine
Media TypeHuCard
ReleaseJP: July 20, 1990
NA: September 1990
Multiplayer (2 Players alternating)
Development TimeTBD
RatingESRB: E
Rereleased Platform(s)Ports
Sega Mega Drive -1991
Sega Genesis – 1992

Virtual Console
Wii – 2007
Wii U – 2017

Game Screenshots:

Turbo Views - Devil's Crush


Spida1a is a YouTube channel that is dedicated to TurboGrafx-16 and TurboDuo video game reviews.

Toshiaki SakodaToshiaki SakodaComposer
Naosuke AraiNaosuke AraiMusic (Genesis Version)
Profile PlaceholderToshiharu YamanishiMusic (Genesis Version)
Profile PlaceholderTakeshi YoshidaMusic (Genesis Version)


TurboGrafx-16 (North American Release)

PC Engine (Japanese Release)

Genesis (North American Release)

Mega Drive (Japanese Release)

Media & Promotional Material